Monday
Since
there is no club run tomorrow and we had decided to run the parkrun instead but
that meant we were going to be 2 miles short of our 5 mile target. Therefore I ran the two miles at the gym
instead. It was very tough, as
usual. Even though the treadmill has a
3-speed fan attached, it’s still way too hot.
That in turn drains my energy and makes the run even harder. Still, it got done and then I did my usual
Monday workout. Because the gym was so
empty, I was able to walk around and look at all the equipment and I found some
that I haven’t been using.
Parkrun
was short of volunteers so the equipment was kept to a minimum today. No big flags just a couple of cones to mark
the start and finish. It was drizzling
but quite surprisingly, the massive puddles from Saturday had almost dried out. Due to the improved weather conditions we
were able to speed up again and beat last week’s time. I was excited as I
thought it won't be long now before we are back to normal parkrun pace.
I
had to run today's 4 mile run on my own because I only had a window of one and
half hours free between work and our pre-planned family meal. I wasn’t able to plan a time for a run since
I didn’t know what time I would be back from work so I decided to run to
Joiners’ square and back. It was
drizzling again but not as bad as it had been earlier, so I guess I was
lucky. When I got to Joiners Square I found
that I had only ran for just over 1 and a half miles, so I no choice but to
continue up Lichfield street and around to Regent Rd. Although it was tough running up the hill, it
was also a lot nicer to run along there than Leek Road so I didn’t mind too
much. I continued along College Rd and
back on to Glebe Street and into Stoke.
I was hoping that the 4 miles would be up before I got home so that I could
have a cool-down walk but to my disappointment, Endomondo didn’t go off until 3
doors from my house.
I
was horrified to see that not only was it was absolutely p*****g down; it was
also quite windy. I was not going to let
the weather ruin my last parkrun for the year and decided that I would go
regardless. After all, we did survive
the rain last Saturday, didn’t we? Well, by the time I got to the park, I didn’t
need to worry about getting wet anymore.
I was as soaked as I could get and my shoes had at least a pint of water
in each one.
It
was amazing to see so many runners there and even a couple of first timers. We
decided straight away that we would not be rushing today; the main thing was to
get around the course safely without gaining a cold at the same time. Yet again we loved running through those huge,
deep puddles. It took us back to
childhood and of course that doesn’t happen too often these days
Sunday
Well
there was no rain this morning but instead we had a very bitterly cold wind
which cut through our clothing and stung our faces as if we’d got burnt. We met at Festival Park for this week’s long
run which was for 8 miles. We used the
same route as last week but added a little detour to Stoke to give us the extra
mile. It was desperately cold for most
of the run and we got a bit disheartened when it started to spit but luckily
the rain stayed away until later.